30 DoBH – 2

Not including food, blogging or television, my most guilty pleasure (this includes chocolate)…

Picking at my peeling skin D: Whether it’s from a sunburn, my dry lips, my feet being gross, or even a blister on my hands, I can not resist.

Online exclusive! That means you can't find this style in stores or anywhere else. Just here (while they last).

Exfoliative cheilitisWikipedia
Cheilitis is a medical condition involving inflammation of the lip.
It is associated with many conditions, including megaloblastic anemia from vitamin B12 deficiency, iron deficiency anemia (which in severe cases can lead to Plummer-Vinson syndrome) and oral candidiasis. It can also be a symptom of allergies, such as allergy to Balsam of Peru. Cheilitis can also be caused by taking the (retinoid) drug Isotretinoin (brand name Roaccutane) (BNF84).
It may also be a pre-malignant lesion for squamous cell carcinoma.

 

I think the whole thing stems from my need to control whatever I can about my body, since apparently I am incapable of controlling my eating habits and losing weight like I so desire. The area I live in currently definitely is an enabler, as New Mexico is very hot and very dry, so encourages skin to peel.

Sometimes I stop when it hurts, but last month I gave myself a cold sore so bad I couldn’t even speak coherently because it hurt so bad. I have made myself limp, and unable to grasp things in the past.

Is this a gross habit? Yes. And it’s even detrimental, but a case could be made versus some of the more main stream habits (smoking, drinking, etc) I have been much better about it in my adult life versus my school years, but it definitely has it’s upswings in my times of stress and and loneliness.

 

I may attempt to train myself out of doing this by using some of the other addicts tools, just so that I can say I broke myself of it. But, like knuckle cracking, it may just be a part of who I am.

Published in: on April 6, 2012 at 11:02 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emmmmerz.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/30-dobh-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. My goodness that sounds so painful and distressing. I know that if you continue doing it sometimes the body gets tired of healing itself. Try to stop my friend.

    Like


Share your thoughts?

